People and Importance

Thank you for all of those who chose to weigh in on my post “What’s that Flavor”. That is the kind of feedback I am hoping for as I move forward. You have to love learning.

I do, however, want to say a few things about the comments as well as other musings on the subject. The discussion seemed to go in two directions, people and importance.

1. People – I have to say that I never intended to, nor would I ever want to, actually place value on the people involved in the life of the coffee “bean”. We should all have pride in what we do. We are all “vital”. I feel it is counter productive to discuss who is most vital and certainly who is least. Not to be too sappy about it but, to me we are all a team. We must always strive to continue to learn and grow. To consider how our actions will impact everyone else’s, as well as the coffee, and in turn the customer. Who, we can’t forget make it all possible. One could argue THEY are the most vital.

2. Importance – It has been stated elsewhere that my question presupposes that one factor (of the pre-barista life of coffee) is “more important” than another. I disagree with that assertion and nowhere in the post did I ever ask which was more important. Just like the people involved, they are all interrelated. They are all important. No matter how large or small the influence on flavor may be.

To continue with the ever tired chain analogy, I just wanted to explore if maybe some links were bigger than others.

Maybe Geoff Watts will show up with those Venn diagrams.

I believe I’ve abused and misused the comma enough for today.

~ by Chris Owens on December 15, 2007.

6 Responses to “People and Importance”

  1. but once you start setting value (your terms were “factors [that] most affect the taste of coffee” and “level of influence”) on various components in the process, how can that value NOT pertain to the people involved?

    that was my point, albeit an irreverent and poorly made one. whether someone/something is “more important” or has “more influence” or constitutes a “bigger link in the chain,” it’s still a value statement.

    i happen to agree, though, that credit should be shared in an egalitarian way, and that we shouldn’t make too much of some people over others in the overall process.

  2. p.s. is that my dining room table?

  3. I agree. The value/factor/level of influence are, in reality, inseparable. The human quotient just wasn’t the part I wanted to explore at that time.

    I also agree that I am still making a value statement. That said, and I in no way want to enter into a semantic debate over English with you (because I will most surely lose), It just seems to me that saying something/someone is most/least important feels more exclusionary, than speaking of their/its impact on and relationship to the whole.

    At this point we are probably saying the same thing so I’m just going to be quiet.

    oh, and yest that is your dining room table.

  4. Coffee is very complicated. Sometimes, it’s not about getting to a right answer as much as it is about asking questions.

    Debating semantics… blech… It’s like a blog full of verbage you can’t read without getting a headache.

  5. “It has been stated elsewhere that my question presupposes that one factor (of the pre-barista life of coffee) is “more important” than another”

    I noticed this and I wanted to mention that if you were referring to my post here

    http://onionbean.wordpress.com/2007/12/08/where-does-flavor-come-from/

    that I had not read your post at the time I wrote it. I meant that I hear people discuss the importance of flavor affecting factors. I never heard you bring “importance” into it.

    Just wanted to set that straight. Thanks for your tolerance of my white noise on the web.

  6. Venn diagrams… reminds of this awesome shirt i saw.

    http://www.dieselsweeties.com/shirts/elitism/

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

